An Elgar Portrait

Composed in commemoration of the 150th Anniversary of the birth English Composer Sir Edward Elgar.  The suite is in three movements; Introduction, Elegy and March, each of which have been inspired by three of Elgar’s most celebrated works; Chanson de Matin, Nimrod(Variation IX from the Enigma Variations) and Pomp and Circumstance No.1.

Introduction – Hollybush Hill

Hollybush Hill is the name of one of the peaks of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire. The Malverns were a favourite walking area for Elgar and his wife and their panoramic views inspired much of Elgar’s music.

Elegy – Broadheath

Broadheath is the small village at the foot of the Malvern Hills where Elgar was born (and lived at various times throughout his life). Elgar is buried not far from Broadheath at St Wulstan’s in Little Malvern

March – Worcester Cathedral

Many of the Worcestershire ensembles and music festivals played an important role in Elgar’s early musical education.  He was heavily involved in The Three Choirs Festival and either conducted or played in many of the light orchestras and vocal groups that performed at venues across Worcester.  A statue of Elgar overlooks the Cathedral at the end of Worcester High Street.

An Elgar Portrait  has been used regularly as an own choice 4th section test-piece and was also selected as the set work for the Swiss National Championships in 2007 and the Pontins Brass Championships in 2008.  


Difficulty: Easy - Intermediate

Duration: 00:10:00 (total)

Available from: Kirklees Music